Well, Disney is moving ahead with the screenwriting and production of my co-written book The Finest Hours.  Still kinda hard for me to get my head around, but everything is falling into place.  I’m hoping casting starts this spring and filming begins this summer.

I just got back from speaking at three Coast Guard Air Stations: Houston, Mobile, and New Orleans.  One of my lasting memories is of a young boy named Luke who visited the Coast Guard base via the “Make a Wish”  Foundation.  His dream has been to be a rescue swimmer, the men and women at Air Station Mobile helped him through the training and he made it.  The station put together a beautiful video of his training.  I just found out his address so I sent him an audio book version of Overboard because that features rescue swimmer A.J. Thompson.  That young boy was a rescue swimmer for a day, but little hero forever.  I wrote to him that although I’m a good swimmer, I’d never make it as a rescue swimmer because I’m afraid of heights!

Speaking of rescue swimmers, my next book will feature Drew Dazzo making a rescue in 70 foot seas in the Gulf Stream.  Simon and Schuster is publishing the book, which I’ve tentatively titled “A Storm Too Soon.”  In a couple months I’ll post some photos from rescue here on the blog. In addition, I now have  a Facebook Author page “Michael J. Tougias”. If you have any friends that might be interested in taking a look at it, please  forward it along.

Best wishes to all for a safe and healthy 2012 filled with gratitude for the good things in life.

4 comments

  1. Michael,
    I am thrilled to hear that Disney is working on Their Finest Hours and can’t wait to see their adaptation of your book. I am also anxious to read A Storm Too Soon and look forward to its release. Continued best wishes on all of your endeavors.

  2. Michael,
    I just finished Overboard and am still a little shaky from the experience! You do have a way of making your readers feel they are right there with the book’s characters. Our trip to Bermuda had only one frightening experience when a squall came through at midnight, much earlier than predicted, As I was watching my friend Ray wrestle with the jib to get it down I just kept thinking, “This is how it happens. This is how people are lost.” He didn’t go over for which I will always be grateful but it is good to know of the enormous commitment and skill of the USCG. A good expenditure of our tax dollars! Still wish you’d come for dinner sometime!
    Best regards, Dudley Dudley

  3. Let’s just make sure that Disney knows they kinda have to pick New Englanders to be in the movie. haha I don’t want to hear any R’s.

  4. Michael,

    Just wanted to stop in and say that if any fellow fans have not read Ten hours Till Dawn please do. This is the best of the best. I lent the book to my large family to read and i dont think i will get it back. I hope it will stick to you like it has me. you will know what i mean. It may be to much for the family but it would make a blockbuster film. Cant wait for your movie and the new book. Take care all. yurii

Leave a Reply

