April Newsletter

Well, I know I said A Storm Too Soon was going to be my last true adventure/survival book, and that my next project might be a sequel to There’s A Porcupine in My Outhouse.  But then I watched a Weather Channel special about the sinking of the HMS Bounty and I was hooked.  I’d also read several articles that were inaccurate, and that was all I needed to take on the project.  So I’m hard at work with co-author Doug Campbell, and have uncovered multiple reasons why the captain set sail into Hurricane Sandy, but none of them seem logical to me.

A Storm Too Soon has gotten great reviews, and there was one review in the Providence Journal that I know is a tremendous write-up, even if I don’t quite understand the description they used!  Here’s what it said: “Already a maven of maritime schadenfreude with books such as Overboard! and Fatal Forecast, Tougias cinches that title here. An enthralling book…”    I’ve never been called a maven but I think when I was a kid my mother once said I was acting like a schadenfreude…

Other reviews were a lot easier to understand!  (see bottom of newsletter)  I think the main reason for the positive press, is that the book is written in the present tense and puts the reader in the middle of the action.  The book is different than my other for another reason as the subtitle indicates: “A True Story of Disaster, Survival, and An Incredible Rescue.” The rescue was incredible – even the rescue swimmer was drowning.  And the main character in the story, JP DeLutz, is such an unusual and compelling figure.  It doesn’t hurt that the storm in the book produced bigger waves than those in the Perfect Storm!

I hope you will consider A Storm Too Soon for a mothers day, fathers day or graduation gift. If you order from Amazon, please post a two sentence review — I’ve read where the more reviews a book has the greater Amazon will feature the book in one of it’s special promotions. Some readers have written to me and want an autographed or personalized hard-cover copy to give as a special gift.  To do that simply send me a note (let me know how you would like the book inscribed) and a check for $24 + $4 shipping, and mail to Michael Tougias 21 Cranberry Road, Plymouth, MA 02360.

I’m traveling across New England giving dramatic slide presentation of A Storm Too Soon, and the locations and dates are shown at the bottom of the newsletter.  Hope you can make it to one of these programs.   Librarians have been especially helpful to me, setting up presentations and recommending the book.  A couple libraries are using my book in their Community Reads program (also called On The Same Page).  If you think your library might be interested, just give them this newsletter and they can contact me through my website.

This fall and winter I did a couple business group presentations “Survival Lessons: Decision-Making Under Pressure” for both Raytheon and General Dynamics.  I also spoke at the North Platte Town Lecture series where there was an audience of 1,000.  I didn’t know there were that many people in Nebraska!

I just read that 45% of Americans have not read a single book in the last year.  That absolutely blew me away – I can’t imagine not having a good book open by my bedside.  I just finished Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, and it was just as fascinating as her masterpiece Seabiscuit.  Hillenbrand, in my humble opinion, is the best living American non-fiction writer.

In an effort to show kids that reading can fire-up the imagination, my co-author and I have partnered with Henry Holt to revise The Finest Hours: The True Story of the Coast Guard’s Most Daring Rescue into a book for middle readers.  The tentative release date is this fall.  The adult version was selected by the Massachusetts Book Award as one of the top 10 non-fiction books of the year, and I’m certain the young adult version will be just as exciting.

Date Time Place Topic   
4/22 7:00pm East Bridgewater MA Library Storm Too Soon
4/25 7:00 pm Dighton MA Library Storm Too Soon
4/30 6:30pm Meridan CT Library Blizzard of 78
5/1 7:00pm Enfield CT Library Storm Too Soon
5/2 5:45pm West Haven CT Library Storm Too Soon
5/8 7:00pm Falmouth Historical Society Storm Too Soon
5/16 7:00pm Brentwood NH Library There’s a Porcupine in my Outhouse
5/21 7:00pm East Lyme CT Library Storm Too Soon
5/22 1:00pm Norwich CT Library Storm Too Soon
6/18 10:30am Winslow House, Marshfield MA Storm Too Soon
6/27 6pm Maine Maritime Museum, Bath Storm Too Soon
6/28 6:30pm Penobscot Maritime Museum, Searsport Storm Too Soon
7/10 7pm Taylor Community Laconia NH Fatal Forecast
7/11 7:15pm Springfield NH Historical Overboard
7/31 6:30pm S. Hadley MA Library Quabbin
8/1 6:30pm Hudson MA Library There’s A Porcupine in My Outhouse
8/12 7:30 Tales of Cape Cod, Barnstable Storm Too Soon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you are reading this at work, and you need a break from mind-numbing corporate bs, go to my blog  michaeltougias.wordpress.com and you will find some articles I’ve written that will transport you out of your cubicle for some much needed relief.  I also post frequently on my Facebook author page Michael J. Tougias. Some of my comments are a bit over the top and a few are adult only, so I’ve been using the hash tag “#ThoughtsTooSoon

And lastly, please forward this email to a friend of yours.  Word of mouth and personal  recommendations might just get A Storm Too Soon on the NY Times bestseller list.  Thank you!  Michael

 

REVIEWS OF A STORM TOO SOON

Kirkus Review:  “By depicting the event from the perspective of both the rescued and the rescuers and focusing only on key moments and details, Tougias creates a suspenseful, tautly rendered story that leaves readers breathless but well-satisfied. Heart-pounding action for the avid armchair adventurer.”

NY Post:  “The riveting, meticulously researched “A Storm Too Soon” tells the true-life tale of an incredible rescue”

Publishers Weekly:   “Tougias deftly switches from heart-pounding details of the rescue to the personal stories of the boat’s crew and those of the rescue team. The result is a well-researched and suspenseful read.”

Booklist:  “It’s a story of heroism, for sure (the captain, despite being seriously injured and near death, kept his two shipmates alive), but also of sheer terror. Cast adrift in the angry seas, the men seemed to have little chance of survival. Readers of true-life adventures, especially those involving disaster and rescue at sea, should find this one very much to their liking.”

Boston Globe: “Tougias is the author of widely admired character-driven sea stories.”

Fall River Herald: “Few American authors—if any—can better evoke the realities that underlie a term such as ‘desperate rescue attempt.’”

The Providence Journal: “Already a maven of maritime books with “Overboard!” and “Fatal Forecast”, Tougias cinches that title here.  Working in the present tense Tougias lets the story tell itself, and what a story!  Any one reading (A Storm Too Soon) will laud Tougias’ success.”

Yachts Magazine:  “A compelling tale of man vs nature”

South Coast Magazine:  “A magnificent culmination of what-ifs with such detail as to inspire reverence for the human spirit.  Tougias’ use of present tense is ingenious, this is an armchair riptide of the reading experience.”

Oregon Coast Weekend: “To read this book is to become a believer in the unbelievable.  Few stories are as harrowing.”

Metrowest Daily: “Tougias tells the story in the present tense, giving the story a gut-wringing immediacy that makes the book hard to put down.”

Leave a Reply

